top of page
  • Writer's pictureArbie and Moo

How to do up your room on a budget!


About two years ago I got to the stage where I just couldn’t cope with the pinkness and fluffiness of my five year old self’s dream bedroom. It was literally starting to give me headaches! So after much pleading I was finally allowed to do up my bedroom.


That just left me with one problem, it had to be done on a budget and I had no clue where to start!


It took me months and a million screenshots to finally decide what I wanted to do with my pink lair. I knew this much; I wanted a feature wall with wallpaper, I wanted the main colours to be white and grey and I wanted that long awaited double bed.


So here are my six pocket-friendly tips that I learned from doing up my bedroom:


1. Upcycle and Recycle

You never know what could be hiding in the back of your garden shed or in your attic. I used an old kitchen chair for my desk and painted it white. It is now a completely different piece as I added a cushion to it for a pop of colour. I think while doing up any room paint is your best friend. You can completely transform any piece with just a slap of paint and a bit of creativity. And it’s cheap and easy! Just give your house a root around before you go out and spend loads on something that was actually lying under a box in your attic.


2. Ikea

If there is an Ikea near you then Hallelujah!!! Ikea, oh sweet, sweet Ikea. If you even live eight hours away from one then I would say pack your sandwiches and crisps and get on the road! I wish I could’ve gone here as a child because I would’ve had the best game of “grown ups” in my life! Even now walking through the showrooms I get a little excited and have that split second where I pretend I’m living in a city with my perfect life and I have just come back to my perfect apartment from my perfect job. (If you have been to Ikea don’t lie to me…EVERYONE has that split second where they imagine their new apartment walking through the showrooms) But apart from their amazing showrooms- everything here is sooooo cheap! A lot of my bedroom is from Ikea. I got a massive white bookshelf here for just €90! That might seem expensive but this thing covers most of my wall. Ikea is a must-go for anyone looking for a good bargain.


3. Charity shops

Charity shops are in most towns so you have no excuse not to pop into one and have a look. A two minute stop could save you loads of money on something you were going to buy for full price in another shop! So go into a few with an open mind because there are so many possibilities with a little bit of creativity.

4. Auctions

I never even considered these until my neighbour found a really nice desk online at a nearby auction. This led to me getting the desk, finding a double bed and getting two bedside tables. And the price is the best part. We got all this furniture for just €180! When I painted the furniture it turned out way nicer compared to the furniture I had been looking at for full price. Auctions are always going on in different areas, so it could really pay off to take the time to go to one.


5. Penneys (Primark)

As everyone knows, Penneys is very, very cheap. Are you even a real human being if you haven’t ever bought something there? Their home ware section is actually really good. It is always up to date with the latest trends and most of their products are good quality. I found loads of bits and bobs there that made the perfect cheap accessories I needed to finish off my room. From cushions to fairy lights to candles, Penneys has such cute stuff that is extremely light on the pocket.


6. Sales

This is kind of a no-brainer to be honest. Just be on the lookout for any sales that might be going on before you do up your room. Follow furniture shops on all your social medias to make sure that no sale slips you. I noticed on Instagram that Laura Ashley had a sale one day, I then dragged my Mum up to the nearest shop and bought my wallpaper, curtains and paint there for half price!


I hope that I helped you save at least some money if you are doing up a room. I love the way that my bedroom turned out and it didn’t break the bank at all!


See you soon with another post,


Yours Truly,


Arbie x

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I was in Northern Ireland

I love travel. Isn’t it great? It doesn’t matter where you go, even if it’s just down to the shop and back, you feel like you’ve accomplished something every time. Walked for ten minutes and bought so

bottom of page