top of page
  • Writer's pictureArbie and Moo

Arbie's Top Five Makeup Products


Ahhhh my first blog post!!!! What a better way to start then to share my absolute favourites with you? Now, at the ripe all age of sixteen I know I don’t have a lot of experience with makeup. And like everyone else who has started wearing makeup, I too have gone out of the house with my orange concealer blobbed on, non- blended all through second year… but I have now overcome those terrible days of dodgy makeup. Yes, I’m still learning, and I still make mistakes – sometimes BIG mistakes (lovely bit of streaky contour on the cheek there Arbie) – but I still want to share my experience with all these different products that have grown to become my favourites in the last few months (or a few years actually, god how long has that blush actually been there?) Anyway here are the top five makeup products that I love at the moment… And I’m sure in the next two months this could be completely different (actually it won’t be because you don’t have any money to buy more products Arbie..) but here it is (finally…)


All links for these products will be below if you fancy getting your hands on them.



1. Catrice Concealer

Price: €3.90

Places to buy: Penneys, various pharmacies

Rating: 7/10

Oh my bejeegles….. this stuff!! For the price is amaaazing! It blends like a dream and the coverage is great! I use this practically every day to cover up those purple bags, and when I say it covers them, it really does banish them. The one downside to this product is that it’s a little bit drying so I wouldn’t be caking this over any really bad spots (you shouldn’t really cake them in makeup anyway). But apart from that it’s a dream for blemishes, bags and anything else you want to cover up!



2. Topshop Highlighter in Crescent Moon

Price: €16

Places to buy: Well…ummm…Topshop maybe

Rating: 9/10

I was actually quite surprised when I first swatched this gem. The glow blinded my eyes so much I ended up stumbling up to the counter and buying it. This stuff is the highlighter I’ve been waiting for all these ummm (not years because I didn’t know highlighter existed until last year) months! This slightly pinky tone looks great on pale skin. It goes on very nicely and stays there all day making whatever room you are standing in glow. Also it’s lasted me so long. Like I haven’t even made a dent in it yet!



3. NYX Matte Liquid Liner

Price: €7.75

Places to buy: Boots,

Rating: 8/10

Now, finally something for the eyes, and this one is a goodie. It doesn’t smudge, it is long lasting, it’s jet black and the applicator (I don’t know what you call this little brush thingy) is not that thick that you are immediately prone to the “blob” (…oh god I can barely even mention it without shuddering). And it’s not too thin that you are there all day filling in your perfect wing and then you get a bit tired…….and then blob! *shudders* So, if you are looking for an affordable black eyeliner that won’t let you down after you spend a kajillion hours doing your eye makeup (everyone knows the tragic, tragic, pain) then this is your guy!



4. MAC Matte Lipstick in Velvet Teddy

Price: €19.50

Places to buy: Brown Thomas

Rating: 8/10

Who wouldn’t want lipstick that smells like Lindt chocolate???!! Everyone seems to disagree with me but I don’t care… they just have messed up noses or something. Apart from how this lipstick smells like chocolate (like can you even ask for a better combo??!) I’d have to say this was my first true love. Everyone has that one product that they discover when they are only a lil teen that they use through everything and I think this will be mine. Yes it is very pricey for a lipstick. The only reason I have this is because I got it as a present. But is it good? Hell YAAS. It’s so creamy, the colour is the perfect subtle nude with a bit of a pinky tone and the chocolate scent is an amazing bonus. So if you have extra money and want to treat yourself to a lipstick that will be your friend for a long time then MAC is the way to go.



5. Benefit Rockateur Blush

Price: €34

Places to buy: Brown Thomas, Debenhams

Rating: 9/10

How could I forget?! Aaah this blush! Lots of people aren’t fans of blush and I can see why (like who wants to look like they have just been for a ten mile run?) But they have obviously not tried out this blush! It is your usual blush but slightly darker and has a bit of bronze and highlight in there as well! I use this all the time as it is perfect for those days when you look like you have awoken from your coffin, not your bed. And people, no lie. I don’t have the full size version. I don’t even have the mini version. I have the teeny weeny version that is barely bigger than your thumb. And my stuff has not even hit pan and it is in its third year running. Also trust me I look like I’ve just dug out of my own grave every morning!


That wasn’t as scary as I thought it would be! Expect a lot more makeup posts because I loooove makeup.

From yours truly,

Arbie xxx


Links to the makeup legends up above:


36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page